If You are a Maven, You are in Good Company!

June 29, 2012 § Leave a comment

Malcolm Gladwell in his book The Tipping Point (subtitled How Little Things Make a Big Difference) speaks of three kinds of people who control word of mouth epidemics. *

One of them is a maven. Maven in Yiddish means one who accumulates knowledge. They are not passive collectors. They are not just obsessed about getting a good deal or finding a great story. They want to tell you about it too. Sound like anyone you know?

Our school librarian helped me find an alphabet book for my grandson’s 4th birthday. LMNOPeas. He and I both love this book. http://books.simonandschuster.com/LMNO-Peas/Keith-Baker/9781416991410

I returned to the library raving about the alphabet book when the library aide said to me that she has been telling others about a picture book she discovered on the civil rights era, Ruth and the Green Book.

I checked it out since it was an unfamiliar story to me as well. http://www.powells.com/biblio/9780761352556

So I‘d like to think I am a maven-“an information broker sharing and trading what one knows”. I call it not keeping the good stuff just for me.

And those of you who read my last editor’s note may remember I encouraged you to check out The Fantastic Flying Books of Mister Morris Lessmore.  Almost right after the newsletter was posted, I heard from an aunt of one of the artists who works at their animation studio. It is our own Mary Jeter.     And the next time you see Mary, be a maven and ask her about her nephew!

*If you want to read quotes from Gladwell’s books or columns click on the link: http://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/1439.Malcolm_Gladwell

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading If You are a Maven, You are in Good Company! at Every good and perfect gift.

meta

