But you don’t have to take my word for it!

June 29, 2012 § 1 Comment


Hopefully, you know this phrase from the PBS program, Reading Rainbow.  I loved that show from the first day I saw it with my then 2 year-old-daughter, Jennifer.  The opening song drew us in as we watched the animated ‘butterfly in the sky’ fly into a world of picture books. Towards the end of each show host LeVar Burton would say the phrase and a couple of children would have the opportunity to speak up for one of their favorite books. These children too would say the words from above as they introduced other children with their book reviews: But you don’t have to take my word for it!

That is how I feel about writing the editor’s column for our regional chapter’s newsletter.  I give you the work of many creative people. And as I have been among the first to see it, I can use this column to point out all the wonders each issue contains.

But you don’t have to take my word for it! 

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to But you don’t have to take my word for it!

  • Beverly says:

    Hi, Carolyn. I recognized your picture from the newsletter. Appreciate your comment on my blog. And I want to thank you for the lovely job you did with the latest newsletter. (As well as the previous ones.) I haven’t read all of the new one yet, but hope to finish today. Love the iformation about new books and awards and thank you for adding my good news. I must visit SCBWI more and keep up with what’s happening.

    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading But you don’t have to take my word for it! at Every good and perfect gift.

meta

